Archive for August 10, 2006

A Couple of Thoughts About Politics

“Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it whether it exists or not, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedy.” ~~ Ernest Benn

“We need anything politically important rationed out like Pez: small, sweet, and coming out of a funny, plastic head.” ~~ Dennis Miller

August 10, 2006 at 4:36 pm Leave a comment

I’m so not from L.A.

Back when David Letterman’s show was on NBC following the Tonight Show, (yes I know I’m dating myself…) he had a regular audience participation segment called “Brush with Greatness.” During these segments, he would go into the audience where several would stand and tell their stories of celebrity sightings. Most were hysterically funny because they were so completely ridiculous. Things like, walking into the Albertson’s store and Dolly Parton’s bodyguard bumped into them, or something equally silly. I used to laugh my head off over the mere remoteness of the of the so-called “Brushes.”

Here in the Midwest, we almost never have to deal with celebrity sightings. We are so completely isolated from the celebrity world that it’s a hoot to hear the “Brush with Greatness” stories from those in L.A. This blog’s post (Of Fish and Family) is the perfect example of what I’m talking about. I chuckled my way through parts of it and remembered the fun of the old Letterman bit. Take a moment to enjoy.

August 10, 2006 at 2:04 pm Leave a comment

handmade design: My Color Schemes

Check out this blog post on the upcoming fashion color trends. It should give us some insight into what colors and styles of jewelry we can be making to go with these trends. Very useful! handmade design: My Color Schemes

Technorati tags: , ,

August 10, 2006 at 9:21 am 1 comment


August 2006
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Flickr Photos

Orbitz
Site Meter


My blog is worth $22,017.06.
How much is your blog worth?