Archive for August 29, 2006

The cure for stolen office lunches

A friend and co-worker, Jonathan, just emailed me a link to this article: http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/business/sixel/4137785.html

Just a note – my office is right next to the floor’s “galley” and on the refrigerator is a sign with this message in large, red letters: “Please do not take food that does not belong to you!” The sign was posted after our previous office secretary, Tammy, had her lunch stolen one too many times. She transferred to another building months ago, but the problem has not gone away….

“Tuna” sandwich, anyone?  😉

August 29, 2006 at 7:18 pm Leave a comment

The old fort on the Fort Bliss post before dawn


The old fort on the Fort Bliss post before dawn
Originally uploaded by cree8iv_1.

Sunday, I did something I have never before done. I spent the night on an Army post. In fact, I had never even been on a military post or base before. It’s amazing how huge the place is!

Yesterday, on the way to the airport to catch my flight home, I shot this photo of the historic old fort located on the post. I have to say, my new camera takes kick-butt photos because this was taken before dawn. Yes, I did adjust the shadows in Photoshop, that’s why it’s grainy, but you get the idea.

Also on the way out of the post, we saw hundreds of young men and women in their camo, running. It doesn’t matter what one feels about the situation in Iraq, it’s still a sobering thing to see these young people training to go there. They will soon be placing their lives in danger for all of us. I got a little choked up by the realization when they were running past us. All I can think is that I hope each and every one of them come home safely…and soon!

Regardless of political leanings, they deserve our complete respect. My hat’s off to them!

Technorati tags: ,

August 29, 2006 at 5:58 pm 1 comment

Mexico border


Mexico border

Originally uploaded by cree8iv_1.

Ok, this is admittedly a blurry photo, but we were driving through the city of El Paso when I snapped it. The giant flag (this photo does not do it justice) is located at the entry to Mexico from El Paso. You can see the flag for several miles. Very impressive!

Technorati tags: ,

August 29, 2006 at 5:53 pm Leave a comment

The view of the mountains from El Paso


The view of the mountains from El Paso

Originally uploaded by cree8iv_1.

This weekend, I helped a good friend move to El Paso, Texas. ..on purpose!! Believe it or not, my friend David actually voluntarily moved to El Paso!  😉

To make a long story short, he needed someone to drive his Ford Explorer down while he drove the moving truck.

Anyone who has ever travelled by car with me knows that I like to go just a “tad” over the speed limit in order to get there sooner. That was not our luck this time. The moving truck never made it up to the actual speed limit. The 1300 miles seemed to drag on forever. My only request in return was to have an “authentic” Mexican dinner upon arrival.

David took me to a restaurant in El Paso called Forti’s. It did not disappoint!! The food was amazing! I recommend that everyone who finds themselves in El Paso should go to this restaurant. It’s worth it!

And, much to my surprise, I found out that El Paso is actually a pretty nice place. The view of the mountains from the city is spectacular. Ok, I take back the kidding about moving to El Paso. It’s a pretty ok place, after all.  🙂

Technorati tags: ,

August 29, 2006 at 5:52 pm Leave a comment

Two book recommendations

These two books are terrific for anyone looking for inspiration for metal clay projects. Check them out!

Technorati tags: , ,

August 29, 2006 at 5:30 pm Leave a comment

Humorous new words…

As reported by Reuters:  Truthiness” and “Wikiality” — two of the words popularized by political satirist Stephen Colbert on his TV show “The Colbert Report”– were named on Sunday the top television buzzwords of the year…

…Global Language Monitor defined “truthiness” as used by Colbert as meaning “truth unencumbered by the facts.” “Wikiality,” derived from the user-compiled Wikipeida information Web site, was defined as “reality as determined by majority vote,” as when astronomers voted Pluto off their list of planets last week.

You can read the whole article here.

August 29, 2006 at 5:12 pm 2 comments


August 2006
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Flickr Photos

Orbitz
Site Meter


My blog is worth $22,017.06.
How much is your blog worth?