How to Make the Perfect Chicken Soup

September 19, 2006 at 1:18 am 23 comments

We’re headed into the cooler weather, and you know what that means…more colds and flu ahead. I know, there are tons of OTC remedies for the symptoms, but don’t you agree that the most comforting thing when you have a cold is a nice, steamy bowl of homemade chicken soup?

My good friend, Jeanne, recently made some chicken soup for our friend, Cindy, who just had surgery. It was simply delicious! However, being the creative cook that I am, I had to doctor the recipe a bit when I made it this weekend. Here’s what I came up with.

In a crock pot, combine:

One whole head of celery, chopped
One large onion, chopped
One clove of garlic, chopped
One drained can of navy beans
Two large aseptic containers of organic chicken broth
Three large chicken breasts, no skin, bones or fat – chop into 1 inch cubes

Then I throw in these spices, to taste:

Thyme
Oregano
Basil
Salt
Seasoned pepper
One bay leaf

Cover it and let it cook on low for about 6-8 hours. Then add cooked brown rice (about three cups, after cooking). Let simmer another hour and it’s ready to serve.

Simply yummy! – In fact, I brought some for lunch today and need to end this post because the microwave just beeped at me.

(Take a look at Darren Rowse’s ProBlogger Group Writing Project for a ton of other great “How To” articles!)

Entry filed under: General Interest.

I’m a Creative Friend! Don’t You Just Love Great Quotes?

23 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Flickr Photos

Orbitz
Site Meter


My blog is worth $22,017.06.
How much is your blog worth?