Friday the 13th

October 13, 2006 at 11:33 pm Leave a comment

This morning, I was having a discussion with a friend of mine and the subject of Friday the 13th came up. I had heard about the theory of the Knights Templar being rounded up and tortured on Friday the 13th, making it unlucky, but had no difinitive reason to say that it was unlucky myself. I’ve actually always thought of it as a lucky day for me. Anyway, I decided to look it up and see what I could find about it.

First, I’ve always had the theory myself that people expect Friday the 13th to be unlucky so they subconsciously create bad luck for themselves on that day. Well, lo and behold, I found this article on Wikipedia about just that very thing: Wikipedia on Friday the 13th – A discussion of the nocebo effect (heightened anxiety about the day causing a greater likelihood of accidents).

Then, looking further, I found this article with a ton of ideas and theories about the origins of the unluckiness of the day: Paraskevidekatriaphobia: Fear of Friday the 13th

So there you go, everything you ever wanted to know about Friday the 13th (except for the movie…I don’t pretend to explain that…) I still consider it one of my lucky days. How about you?

Technorati tags: , , , ,

Entry filed under: General Interest.

Sad, But True… Steven Wright is Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Flickr Photos

Orbitz
Site Meter


My blog is worth $22,017.06.
How much is your blog worth?


