“Simple” Path to Higher Self Esteem

September 7, 2006 at 1:16 am 2 comments

About a year ago, a friend of mine asked me how one changes their outlook on life and themselves. He’s struggled with depression for years. It hasn’t stopped him from being a very successful and accomplished person, nor from being a good friend. However, he could be much happier if he could find the answer to his question.

At the time, and several times since then, I tried to explain the concept of monitoring one’s own thoughts…of being the “observer” and editing the negative thoughts to more positive ones. Somehow, he never believed it was that simple. Well, I never actually used the word “simple.” Because it’s not. To change one’s way of viewing life and oneself is a very tough thing to do after a lifetime of practicing thinking a certain way. But is it worth it? ABSOLUTELY!!!

I joined a group of women bloggers a few weeks ago and we post articles about each others’ blogs in order to help build all our traffic. The latest blogjolt recipient is Aurelia Williams. She’s a life coach, mother and wife. Her post about the way to higher self esteem really struck a chord with me, and reminded me of the conversations my friend and I had last year. She uses different words to say the same thing I was trying to communicate, but the message is still the same.

I hope my friend reads this post and then reads Aurelia’s post. Perhaps her words will make more sense than mine did. The message is the same, but the messenger is more experienced at teaching these skills.

Her site is loaded with wisdom. I invite everyone to check it out and see the posts that help them the most.

Entry filed under: Blogjolt!, General Interest.

Dichroic Glass & Sterling Silver Bracelet Fine Silver Leaves

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aurelia  |  September 7, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    I gotta say positive thinking is so important and with just a bit of practice each day, we can re-train our thoughts and add a bit more positivity to it 🙂

    Thanks for the mention!

    Aurelia

    Reply
  • 2. David  |  September 28, 2006 at 3:10 am

    Lynn, I think you do have it right. It is simple, but it is not easy. It is lots and lots of hard work. That is the way I see it from my corner of the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Flickr Photos

blogheader-TVHW

tvhousewatch-com-screen

More Photos
Orbitz
Site Meter


My blog is worth $22,017.06.
How much is your blog worth?


